Warning Livedoc is no longer being updated and will be deprecated shortly. Please refer to https://documentation.tjhsst.edu.

Difference between revisions of "Workstation"

From Livedoc - The Documentation Repository
Jump to: navigation, search
m (Super Smash Bros Brawl Characters)
m (Spelling wrong on Dijkstra (i and j were switched))
Line 37: Line 37:

Revision as of 22:41, 13 January 2016


Workstations are one of the main production systems in the CSL. We currently support 52 workstations, which were received in November 2014 and are all of the same generation. The current workstations have been split up into two naming schemes: the CS Pioneers (Research and Admin area) and the Super Smash Bros Brawl Characters (Classroom area). See Historical Workstations for info on past workstation generations.


The workstations use LVM for partition management. Note that vgwkstn-root is **NOT** `/`, but `/root/`.


The workstations are imaged using the imagepull script, stored on each workstation in /var/imageserver/. This pulls config and other files from the golden client (currently elmo) and pulls binaries from haimageserver. When a new package is desired, it should be installed on elmo, and the updateimageserver script (in /root/scripts on haimageserver) should be run. This script pulls in package changes and makes a full backup of the golden client.\\ In order to completely reimage a workstation, the autoinstall script should be used. This script, along with chrootscript which it requires, is stored in multiple places, including ~2014jforcier/admin/install.zip. This file also includes a 64-bit rsync binary, as the Gentoo LiveCD does not include it.

Monitoring Systems

You can monitor the workstations at monitor.tjhsst.edu, which is run using nagios.

Current Workstations

CS Pioneers

The CS Pioneers are HP ProDesk 600 G1 TWRs

Admin Workstations

  • Hopper
  • Amdahl
  • Babbage
  • Berners-Lee


  • Wall
  • VanRossum
  • Torvalds
  • Thompson
  • Stallman
  • Ritchie
  • Postel
  • Matsumoto
  • Lerdorf
  • Kleinrock
  • Kahn
  • Gosling
  • Dijkstra
  • Chamberlin
  • Cerf
  • Boyce
  • Borg
  • Watson

Super Smash Bros Brawl Characters

The Super Smash Bros Brawl Characters are HP ProDesk 600 G1 TWRs


  • Yoshi
  • Sonic
  • Snake
  • ROB
  • Ness
  • Luigi
  • KingDeDeDe
  • FoxMcCloud
  • Samus
  • Pit
  • Pikachu
  • Peach
  • MetaKnight
  • Mario
  • Lucario
  • Link
  • Kirby
  • Jigglypuff
  • Ike
  • Iceclimbers
  • Ganondorf
  • GameandWatch
  • DonkeyKong
  • CaptainFalcon
  • Bowser